Greens announce candidates for London Assembly election

2 December 2015

Today, The Green Party have announced two candidates for the upcoming London Assembly election.  

Samir Jeraj has been selected to be their candidate in the North East constituency. The selection follows an open election of members in the Waltham Forest & Redbridge, Hackney and Islington Green Parties.

The Green Party has also chosen 25-year-old Redbridge resident Lee Burkwood as its candidate for the Havering & Redbridge constituency in the London Assembly elections next May.

The election will take place in May 2016 and the Green Party expect to build on the party’s third place in 2012, where it received 29,677 votes, just behind the Conservative Party who secured 35,714. Following a recent surge in membership and support, the Green Party is tipped to perform extremely well in next May’s London elections. The party already has two members on the London Assembly, Jenny Jones and Darren Johnson.

The Green Party has already selected its London-Wide List candidates. Waltham Forest & Redbridge Green Party member and 2015 Parliamentary Candidate for Ilford South RoseMary Warrington, is one of the 11 candidates on the list. The full list in order is:

  1. Sian Berry (Camden Councillor)
  2. Caroline Russell (Islington Councillor)
  3. Shahrar Ali
  4. Jonathan Bartley
  5. Noel Lynch
  6. Rashid Nix
  7. Tom Chance
  8. Dee Searle
  9. Benali Hamdache
  10. Andrea Carey Fuller
  11. RoseMary Warrington (Waltham Forest and Redbridge)